The rich heritage of Royal Ascot has been around for 300 years and this racecourse is now the established national institution of British horseracing.
In 1711, whilst out riding, Queen Anne came accross an open piece of heath land and decided it was an ideal venue for horses to race.
Ascots first ever meeting was held in August 1711 and open to any horse over the age of six years. The race, called her Majesty's plate was worth a 100 guineas and seven runners took part.
This race is very different to the races held today. The horses were English Hunters and very different from the lithe and speedy thoroughbreds racing now. They must have had extreme stamina as each heat was four miles long (the length of the Grand National Course). Sadly there is no record of the winner.
The Queen Anne Stakes continue to this day in memory of the monarch who founded this course all those centuries ago.
William Lowen laid out the racecourse, assisted by a team of helpers. The first permanent building on the site was errected in about 1794 and was in use until 1838.
Parliament in 1813 decreed that the racecourse be kept and used by the public even though it was property of the Crown. This ensured that Ascot was here to stay and secure.
The Straight Mile Gold Cup Day is the feature of Ladies' day. Ladies' day is usually the busiest day of the week and held on the third day of Royal Ascot and is as famous for the hats and outfits as the horses.
In 2002 Royal Ascot was incorporated as a Limited Company. Until that time it had been run as a private company with no accounts being published.
Her Majesty the Queen has owned and bred racehorses for many years, as did the Queen Mother and achieved great success. Her Jockeys will always race wearing her colours.
Aged 19 the Queen attended her first visit to Ascot two weeks after VE Day (May 1945). This was the first event held in Ascot since the Second world war ended.
The racecourse was closed in the Autumn of 2004 for a major redevelopment programme which incidentally was one of the largest of its kind in the whole of Europe. The development was planned to take Ascot to a whole new level of racing experience.
In June 2006 the grandstand was officially opened again by Her Majesty The Queen. The re-development went to plan and was opened on time and within budget.
Even if you are not a particular lover of horse racing Ascot is well worth the visit. The event is amazing and the atmosphere infectious. You will leave with a feeling of tasting a bit of history.
In 1711, whilst out riding, Queen Anne came accross an open piece of heath land and decided it was an ideal venue for horses to race.
Ascots first ever meeting was held in August 1711 and open to any horse over the age of six years. The race, called her Majesty's plate was worth a 100 guineas and seven runners took part.
This race is very different to the races held today. The horses were English Hunters and very different from the lithe and speedy thoroughbreds racing now. They must have had extreme stamina as each heat was four miles long (the length of the Grand National Course). Sadly there is no record of the winner.
The Queen Anne Stakes continue to this day in memory of the monarch who founded this course all those centuries ago.
William Lowen laid out the racecourse, assisted by a team of helpers. The first permanent building on the site was errected in about 1794 and was in use until 1838.
Parliament in 1813 decreed that the racecourse be kept and used by the public even though it was property of the Crown. This ensured that Ascot was here to stay and secure.
The Straight Mile Gold Cup Day is the feature of Ladies' day. Ladies' day is usually the busiest day of the week and held on the third day of Royal Ascot and is as famous for the hats and outfits as the horses.
In 2002 Royal Ascot was incorporated as a Limited Company. Until that time it had been run as a private company with no accounts being published.
Her Majesty the Queen has owned and bred racehorses for many years, as did the Queen Mother and achieved great success. Her Jockeys will always race wearing her colours.
Aged 19 the Queen attended her first visit to Ascot two weeks after VE Day (May 1945). This was the first event held in Ascot since the Second world war ended.
The racecourse was closed in the Autumn of 2004 for a major redevelopment programme which incidentally was one of the largest of its kind in the whole of Europe. The development was planned to take Ascot to a whole new level of racing experience.
In June 2006 the grandstand was officially opened again by Her Majesty The Queen. The re-development went to plan and was opened on time and within budget.
Even if you are not a particular lover of horse racing Ascot is well worth the visit. The event is amazing and the atmosphere infectious. You will leave with a feeling of tasting a bit of history.
No comments:
Post a Comment